Friday, November 19, 2010

The Penderwicks

This is an okay book written by Jeanne Birdsall. Meet the Penderwicks, four different sisters with one special bond. There’s responsible, practical Rosalind; stubborn, feisty Skye; dreamy, artistic Jane; and shy little sister Batty, who won’t go anywhere without her butterfly wings. When the girls and their doting father head off for their summer holiday, they are in for a surprise. Instead of the cozy, tumbledown cottage they expected, they find themselves on a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon the girls are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens. But the most wonderful discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The novel has been compared to Little Women and The Story of the Treasure Seekers. A sequel, The Penderwicks on Gardam Street, was released in April 2008.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home